BEDJ 18: Take that, math!

Remember that Wordless Wednesday?

Want to see more? I cordially invite you to visit my personal website.

Aside from one beastly page I made in Grade 9 computers class on *shudder* Microsoft Publisher, which never actually saw the light of the internet, this is my first website. Like, coded from scratch with HTML, CSS and a tad of jQuery website. Something I coded. Can you tell I’m proud of it?

Sure, it’s still got some kinks to work out. But I’ll get there.

You’ve already heard me go on and on about Ladies Learning Code, who gave me not only the basic skills to start a website, and go on to teach myself some more tricks, but the inspiration to actually go and make a site. Incredible women like Denise Jacobs and those I met through Girl Geeks Toronto at FITC also opened my eyes to the community of awesome coders (…who also happen to be women). Pretty cool.

What I realized through making my website was how easy it came together.

Ok, that’s a big lie. I toiled for ages over the site. Do you know how tricky it is to make a fixed header with rollover buttons that matches up perfectly with a header image? Well maybe you do…

What I mean is I was surprised, and relieved, by how much my design background came in to use. Ha! Art school proves its usefulness!  Chatting with some of the mentors at the Ladies Learning Code mobile session, even experienced coders were saying how they find themselves seeking designers to work with because their own design skills aren’t up to snuff. In my opinion, it’s easier to learn code than it is to learn design. With enough practice, anyone can learn to code (my father, who happens to be a professor of computer science and robotics, begs to differ). Art, which tends to find itself at the bottom of the academic and professional food chain, is not something anyone can learn.

Side story: I was unbelievably bad at math in high school. I just wanted to do art. I wasn’t interested in math, so I never applied myself, so I did poorly, so I felt discouraged… Flash forward to a few years ago when I was contemplating doing an MBA. I, and all my friends, entertained the idea but were all intimidated by the math portion of the GMAT. I took a GMAT prep course, bought a practice book, and studied. I relearned math I had once been taught in high school but never took the initiative to learn. But with time, a goal, and a work ethic, I taught myself the math that had made me cry for most of the late 90s. And I aced that GMAT.

So, basically. If I can learn math, if I can code a website, then really I can do anything I put my mind too (my mother was right all along!). It takes initiative, and it takes work, but man is it rewarding. So whatever’s on your bucket list, whatever you want to do but for some reason don’t think you’re capable, work at it.

What’s the biggest challenge you’ve taken on? And if not the biggest, what’s the one that made you the most proud?

2 thoughts on “BEDJ 18: Take that, math!

  1. “In my opinion, it’s easier to learn code than it is to learn design. With enough practice, anyone can learn to code (my father, who happens to be a professor of computer science and robotics, begs to differ).”

    Given the amount of bad code I’ve seen, I’d tend to agree with your dad (then again, my background is in Computer Science, so that infers a very large bias). Good code is like art. I guess bad code can also be like art… just not the kind you hang up on the wall.

    That said, I’d also agree that learning to code is easier than learning design.

    PS: Math > *

    • Ah, true enough, not everyone can learn *good* code. Or even recognize the shortcomings of their own code. Disclaimer: my own code’s a little messy and needs some neatening up. But I figure with enough time I can improve it.

Leave a Reply

