BEDJ Day 8: Enjoying

Taking a page from Tom‘s notebook for today’s topic, by sharing the things I’m enjoying.

What I’m Reading:

The Romanovs: Autocrats of all the Russias

I’m a historical nonfiction geek. During my undergrad I started taking two historical nonfictions from the University of Guelph’s library each month, just on any two topics. Been hooked ever since. I’ve read the history of pirates, the British navy, Genghis Khan, Sir Francis Drake, Nearly Everything, Byzantium, the Ottoman empire, the Venetian empire, Paris… I used to be really in to sci-fi/fantasy, but the real world and its history is mind-blowing enough already, and I want to learn more about it. But this Romanov book is very thick and I may have to put it aside so I can finish reading A History of Scotland before I head there in August.

What I’m Hearing:

8tracks.com

I used to be a big fan of thesixtyone. They introduced me to Mumford and Sons way before I ever heard it on the radio (#hipsterbrag), and Tomac, and Verbal and the Kickdrums. 8tracks’ interface, although largely similar as a music streaming site, is just a bit easier to navigate. I tend to listen to sweeping orchestral soundtrack music by the likes of Hans Zimmer, and really corny mashups or covers of pop music. It’s my jam.

What I’m Watching:

It’s that time of year that the shows that kept me company in the cold dead of winter are wrapping up for their summer holidays. Next week marks the season finales of Mad Men, Game of Thrones, and Nurse Jackie. Which is sad because I enjoy watching them. Last week was the finale of The Apprentice UK, which is in all ways better than the US version (as are, ahem, most shows).

Oh, CBS, you want to make a gritty reboot of Sherlock
and think it compete in any way with BBC’s?

Good luck with that.

Fortunately I still have Veep and Girls. Yes, I like Girls, but also absolutely agree with the creepy extent to which the show whitewashed New York. I also like Game of Thrones, even though its overarching racial and gender essentialism is starting to grate on me. But I continue watching because Peter Dinklage is a boss and I hope at some point Joffrey gets what’s coming to him. No spoilers, and no I have not read the books.

What I am extremely excited for is the Fox Theatre‘s upcoming Revival Week. The Fox Theater is my favourite theatre in Toronto. For me it beats out the swanky Varsity VIP and the sprawling AMCs and flashing-bright-lights of Cineplex. But Fox Theatre stole my heart the first time we visited. It’s the longest running theatre, been playing since 1914. And it’s charming.

The tickets are cheaper, the concessions are cheaper, and because they have a limited number of movies and only have one screen, it’s got a comfortable and mellow vibe. There’s even a $10 membership that gets you $7 tickets ($10 without the membership) and 10% off all concessions.

No, they don’t play all the flashy blockbusters, but they’ve always got something I want to watch. And next week they’re doing a Revival Week, with the following awesome movies lined up: Back to the Future, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Breakfast at Tiffany’s and my favourite movie Harold and Maude. None of these I’ve even seen on the big screen. I’m really excited to see them all at Fox Theatre. Brave the travel out to Queen East (gasp). You will love it. Plus it’s super close to the beach! Great for a little walk afterwards.

 

What are you enjoying this week?

Leave a Reply

