One more chick on the dancefloor

This post has been a long time coming. Well, at least since I read this excellent piece by Neville Park. Please. Go read it. I’ll wait.

The day before that post went up I found out I had been accepted to the Toronto Regional Champion Campaign: Increasing Women’s Participation in Municipal Government (#TRRCIWPMG?) which, as you can gather from its name, is intended to get women involved in politics.

Starting next week, I’ll be paired with a woman councillor of this fair city and for the next year I’ll get to learn more about what it’s like at City Hall. For a young professional woman. Which, as Neville Park wrote so eloquently, is something far too rare.

I honestly don’t know what the experience will hold for me, or even which councillor I’ll be paired with, but I know I’m going to make the most of it. And I should give you the heads-up – there’ll likely be a lot more #TOpoli tweets and posts coming from yours truly.

In closing, here’s a wonderful clip of Liz Lemon taking on City Hall herself:

4 thoughts on “One more chick on the dancefloor

Leave a Reply

